Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

India on The Moon

Comments

• Options
    I am not a scientific expert, but my understanding of the renewed interest in the Moon is to see if there is ice there.
    Presumably the 'south pole' of the Moon is the bit furthest away from the Sun, and the idea is to see if the ice (presumably a mixture of oxygen and hydrogen) could become a conduit to sustain some kind of human existence there.
    At least I think that's supposed to be the purpose of all this.
  • Options
    Kim Stanley Robinson, a S F author has written a few books around human colonies on the moon, predicated around south pole lunar ice sustaining human life on the rock .. it's long been pretty nigh proven that the moon has large reservoirs of ancient ice .. I suspect if mankind got involved in serious colonisation (fact not fiction), the ice would pretty soon be used up, and there is no more where that came from 
  • Options
    MrWalker said:
    It does seem odd that we send India £30 million+ in aid cash, rising to £60 million in a couple of years.

Worldwide aid to India is over $2.5 billion a year.
    why is it odd? There's hundreds of millions in poverty in india.
    odd in that we send aid to assist with eradicating poverty yet they can fund an expedition to the moon costing what I wonder?
    Again, there are hundreds of millions in poverty in india, so why is it odd that we send them aid?
    We don't...