Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

2nd most spoken languages in London Boroughs (after English)

Comments

• Why Jamie Olivers sjh? I've always considered it contrived.

That's part of it. To discuss whether he is genuinely being himself or subscribing to an image that he or his 'team' want to project. I think it's a bit of both. The main thing the pupils have to do is be able to contrast and compare. So Jamie Oliver and Nigella Lawson are good examples of opposites. Both are contrived though to a degree.
  • An interesting debate which has made for interesting reading. I'd like to add my couple of quid's worth to it.

I work in a school and teach GCSE English to 15 and 16 year olds. The group I teach is made up of 20 pupils. This includes four pupils who have a statement of special needs. It includes pupils who have behaviour and other learning needs. It includes five pupils who joined the school in year 10. None had any experience of English before coming to England and joining the school. One is Algerian. One is Polish. One is Portuguese. One is Lithuanian and one Eritrean.

My job is to get them a GCSE in English Language and English Literature. I have to teach the intricacies of formal and informal language. For example compare the language used by Jamie Oliver and Nigella Lawson. How does such language represent them and their upbringing? Who is their target audience? How does direction and production of their programmes create an impression of who they are?

They have to understand the nuances, subtleties and inferences of different poems. They have to consider the writings of Steinbeck, Harper Lee etc. And if course read, comprehend and explain the works of Shakespeare.