Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

2nd most spoken languages in London Boroughs (after English)

1234568»

Comments

• mate you and me both, 9pm Thursday channel 4 and we will find out , educating east London, I thought the nthn one was hard to hear this one should be all pants on show and kmt

It's on at 9PM on C4 mate - populist sensationalist bollocks, absolutely pointless to watch it if you want any kind of honest insight into the situation.
  • Interesting and disturbing how some very very limited information is interpreted to fit so many underlying assumptions, dislikes and prejudices.
  • Where is the Nepalese community in Greenwich mostly based? As a Greenwich borough resident I really struggle to believe that Nepalese is the second language in the borough.

The people who maintain the borough web site don't seem to be aware of this fact either.

Plumstead and Woolwich. And I 100% agree with it (trust me go to plumstead high street I used to live there) and they really are the nicest people ever.

• se9addick said:

se9addick said:

I was in a Tesco store in Weybridge on bank holiday Monday and my son wanted the loo. So I asked a Tesco assistant on the shop floor where the toilets were, but she snapped back "I don't speak English, sorry" and walked off.
    "Ah, thanks very much" I said and went off to find another 'assistant'. It might be great that so many different languages are spoken here, but I don't think it unreasonable for newcomers settling and working here to speak English.

Are you sure they worked there ? I'd be pretty surprised if a major supermarket would employ someone on the working floor that literally couldn't speak English.