Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Sidemen

Comments

• Options
    Sorry but I think that’s nonsense. For one, not every kid wants to be a YouTube star. 

Second, there are most definitely still kids that want to be footballers or musicians and I’m sure they all believe it’ll be easier than it truly is. What’s the difference?

Just looks like an opportunity to bash young people because it’s not something you can imagine you would’ve been interested in. Doesn’t sit right with me.
    I'm a teacher and I'd say for boys currently in Primary School around 50%+ want to do something in the youtube/gaming space when asked what they want to do when they're older. 
    It used to be a football player. 
  • Options
    Regarding the level of appeal, it’s just numbers, the entire planet can tap into a YouTube video, it’s about potential and the potential is infinite, that’s the appeal
  • Options
    BalladMan said:
    For me, the obsession with You Tubers is an example of the ever lowering ambitions of young people and what they can 'achieve'.  You can only achieve mastery of anything with minimum of 10,000 hours of practice (Malcolm Gladwell, Outliers) and a large proportion of kids don't want to put that kind of effort in to be a footballer, musician or other.  It is plausible to be a successful youtuber without this level of commitment or effort.  This is the sad facts of the youth of today (as a father of 10 and 12 year olds).
    It's absolutely not. This shows how disconnected you are from the reality of what effort these young people go through to become worthy of earning a salary that makes it worthwhile. It's certainly not easy to get their content out there. 
  • Options
    edited September 2022
    Sorry but I think that’s nonsense. For one, not every kid wants to be a YouTube star.