Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Rumours Rumours - Summer 2021 edition (Deadline Day from p814)

Comments

• When I posted my original comment I wasnt being negative about the standard of living in Sunderland in any way ! I chose to move North years ago for exactly that reason, I would argue with anyone that peoples standard of living where I live is miles ahead of my family and friends still down South. But I'm not a pro footballer either and I would think they get a pretty good standard wherever they live. 

All I meant was when you look at the teams in our league in terms of potential, set up and ambition there is no reason to think we shouldnt be at the top if the tree in terms of players destination of choice. We fans are far too negative at times imo
  • Rothko said:
    We're the best of both worlds in terms of location, and Sparrows Lane is the main place of work. If you have a family you can live in Chislehurst for example, in a nice house with decent schools, if your young free and single, you can live in, say Greenwich, be close enough to the training ground and close to central London. 
    And if you're Jonatan Johansson, you can live in Silvertown  :D
  • edited May 2021
    If you are an established footballer let’s say 27 - 28 years old and have had a league one career and live in the north of the country it’s quite possible that you have a million pound house. The prospect of moving to London or the nicest parts of the SE would mean a significant trading down in property. I can fully understand why London is not universally attractive, particularly to players with young families. 
  • reserves said:
    68 pages, no actual rumours of signings then?
    No of course not but, if you hang around you can find out the pros & cons of Sunderland & London.  What's not to like.
  • edited May 2021