Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Summer 2022 transfer rumours (Gilbey loan confirmed p513, a signing falls through last minute p541)

Comments

• edited July 2022
    The big evolution in football is who do you have on the field at the business end of a game because the 5 sub rule is a game changer. Reminds me of when I was a manager in kids football with roll on, roll off subs, if possible i always had my *strongest team on the field in the last third of a game.

So give the eleven you want to start and finish a match; forget the mandatory injuries which will affect selections.

You are not necessarily dropped if you don't start a match. The rules have changed and the manager who can out think the opposition manager has a real advantage in the mediocre League 1 where most players have weaknesses.

*Real Madrid were so much stronger then City at the business end of the final. Walker injury was the catalyst but Madrid had fresh legs where City were spent.
    Totally agree with this and why Barnsley did so well a couple of years back under Ismael.

It makes people like Aneke more valuable. When you have 5 changes to make, you can really incorporate at least 3 into the game plan before the game. And it also means attackers can run harder for the first hour or so knowing they’ll be subbed.

I think winning the games and leagues this year will be as much about which managers learn the 5 sub strategies best as it will be about the starting line ups and tactics.
  • I'd still start Macca over Wollacott, was first game, and will be interested to see improvement today against Dartford - But Jojo hasnt convinced me as a first choice Goalkeeper yet.
    Surely Wollacott has to earn a starting place. He may well do but so far Macca must be ahead of him.
    Why? Is this a different MacGillivray who hadn't looked the worst number one we've had? 
  • edited July 2022
    Dazzler21 said: